Elected Leaders

The Mayor is elected at large. Two Aldermen are elected from each of the City’s three wards, with one from each ward being elected in the even numbered years and one from each ward being elected in the odd number of years. The Board of Aldermen normally meet at 6:00 P.M. on the first and third Thursday of each month at City Hall, 109 Second Street.  If the first meeting night of the month falls on the 1st or 2nd day, the meetings for that month are held on the 2nd and 4th Thursdays.  The Board may also change a meeting date at a prior meeting due to scheduling conflicts.  Board of Aldermen meetings are open to the public.  Citizens have an opportunity to express their concerns and give their input at the open forum which is normally the second item on the agenda right after the consent agenda.  There are opportunities to speak during public hearings after the petitioner has presented their issue.  It is suggested that you advise City Hall of the matter that you wish to discuss with the Board of Aldermen at least two days prior to the meeting so that research (if needed) may be performed prior to the meeting.  Note:  If you do not know what ward you are in please contact City Hall at 573 735 4585 option 1.

Jerry Potterfield

Home: (573) 719-9050


Jason Osbourne

Alderman Ward I
Home: 573 406 4853



Jeff Botkins

Alderman Ward I
Home: 573 231-9781



Marvin Viloria

Alderman Ward II
Home: 573 735 2148


Rusty Rothweiler

Alderman Ward II
Home: 573-231-2627


Connie Painter

Alderman Ward III
Home: 573 822 4014


Ralph Lemongelli

Alderman Ward III
Home: 573-719-8055


Other Elected Officials

Elected County, State, and Federal Officials Representing Monroe City are

County:  Mike Whelan – Monroe County (660)327-5106; Steve Begley – Marion County (573)231-5283;  John Lake – Ralls County (573)248-8791

State:   Louis Riggs – 5th District (573)751-3613; Jim Hansen- 40th District (573)751-4028; Wes Rogers – 18th District (573)751-2199

Congressional: Roy Blunt – U.S. Senator (202) 224-5721;  Josh Hawley – U.S. Senator (202)224-6154; Sam Graves- U.S. Representative (202)225-7041